Does your license get suspended immediately after a DUI?
- April 20, 2022 3:30 pm
- Written by admingl
- Categories: Arrested | Brevard County FL | Drinking & Driving | Drugs | DUI | Florida Laws | Legal Advice | Police | Practice Areas
The Florida Department of Transportation and law enforcement take driving under the influence seriously. Florida’s laws are unique from those of other states, leaving some residents of Brevard County curious about how a DUI may impact their ability to drive.
Those arrested in Brevard County (or anywhere in the state), who are found to have been driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, automatically have their driver’s license suspended.
In the state of Florida, driving is considered a privilege, not a right, with a suspension of driving privileges immediately revoked upon a DUI arrest, regardless of your innocence.
Those arrested for a DUI in Florida have just ten (10) short days from the date of their arrest to save their license. During this 10-day period of time, you may only drive for the limited purposes of work or business. Throughout this window, you’ll use your DUI ticket issued by the officer as a temporary driving permit with restricted privileges.
Your Options Within the 10-Day Window Post-Arrest:
- Request an administrative hearing. By doing so you’ll be granted a 42-day ‘hardship license’ that may be used ONLY to drive to and from work.
- Forfeit your right to a hearing in exchange for the issuance of a 6-12 month hardship license for work