What are the Consequences of a Domestic Violence Conviction in Florida?
- May 5, 2021 11:42 pm
- Written by admingl
- Categories: Assault | Battery | Crimes | Domestic Violence | Felony | Fines | Florida Laws | Legal Advice | Misdemeanor | Practice Areas | Stalking
Domestic violence charges are serious, ranging from a misdemeanor to a felony. Below we detail the varying charges and the potential consequences if convicted in Florida.
Domestic violence in Florida covers ten crimes:
Assault: Second degree misdemeanor. Up to a maximum of 60 days in fail and a fine up to $500.
Aggravated Assault: Third degree felony. Up to a maximum sentence of up to five years in prison, and a fine upwards of $5000.
Battery: First-degree misdemeanor to a third-degree felony. Misdemeanor penalty up to 1-year in jail and up to $1000 fine. Felony convictions up to 5-years in prison and a fine up to $5000.
Domestic Battery by Strangulation: Third-degree felony. Up to a maximum of 5-years in prison and a maximum fine not to exceed $5000.
Aggravated Battery: Second-degree felony. Up to 15-years in prison an a fine of up to $10,000.
Sexual Battery: First-degree felony. Up to 30 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. If physical force causes serious injury, or with the use or threat to use a weapon, is a ‘life felony’, w/ penalties up to life in prison and a max fine of $15,000.
Stalking: First-degree misdemeanor. Up to 1-year in jail and a fine of up to $1000.
Aggravated Stalking: Third degree felony. Max prison sentence of 5-years and a max fine of $5000.
False Imprisonment: Third-degree felony. Up to 5-years in prison and a fine of up to $5000.
Kidnapping: First-degree felony. Up to 30-years in prison and a max fine of up to $10,000.