What constitutes “reckless driving” in Brevard County FL?
- April 7, 2022 4:09 pm
- Written by admingl
- Categories: Brevard County FL | Crimes | Criminal Defense | Felony | Fines | Florida Laws | Jail | Legal Advice | Misdemeanor | Practice Areas
In Brevard County, FL, reckless driving is considered a serious offense. If you find yourself facing a reckless driving charge, it is advisable to seek out representation from an experienced criminal defense attorney such as Germain Legal. We can help you navigate the road ahead, taking immediate action to position your case for success.
What is Reckless Driving in Brevard County?
Reckless driving falls under state law, and is defined as driving a motor vehicle in ‘wanton or willful disregard for the safety of persons or property.’
What does ‘willful’ mean in this context? Willful is interpreted by the law to mean purposefully, knowingly, and intentionally.
What does ‘wanton’ mean in this context? Wanton is interpreted by Florida law to mean with an intentional and conscious indifference to the consequences of your actions, and with the knowledge that such consequences would be likely to cause damage to property or persons.
Because much of the law regarding reckless driving focuses on the state of mind of the driver, it is often difficult to prove in court given its subjectivity.
Penalties for a Reckless Driving Conviction in Brevard County May Include:
- Up to 90 days in Brevard County Jail and/or up to $500 in fines (for a first conviction)
- Up to 180 days in county jail and/or $1000 fine (second offense)
- 1st degree misdemeanor if property damage is involved, punishable by up to 1yr in jail and/or a $1000 fine
- Felony – if serious bodily injury was involved, punishable by up to 5 years in jail and/or a $5000 fine